Saturday, July 13

Grimes the match winner for Limerick Desmond U13s

Grimes the match winner for Limerick Desmond U13s

U13 Boys Munster Interleague Competition

Limerick Desmond 3 (Conor McGarry 2, Stephen Grimes)

Clare 2

Our U13 boys squad got their Subway Interleague competition off to a winning start last Friday evening in Mike Hanley Park in Clounreask vs neighbours Clare.

The opening exchanges dominated by Clare with the central defensive pairing of Micheal O’Kelly & Jamie McAuliffe standing firm along with goalkeeper Cathal Meehan keeping the game scoreless. Limerick Desmond took the lead arguably against the run of play, a Dan Healy corner flicked goalwards by midfielder Conor McGarry ended up in the net via the defender on the line. It stayed one nil to the home side until half time.

Into the second half Clare threatened in a scrappy 2nd third of the game, however it was the home side would double their advantage¬† with midfielder McGarry latching onto Finn Ruttle’s through ball to carry it all they way into the box and coolly finish past the Clare netminder.

It looked like Limerick Desmond were cruising to a comfortable victory, however Clare had other ideas, a quality quick fire double from the two Clare danger men meant it was two all with the game heading for the closing stages.

However, just like their U12 counterparts last weekend, Limerick Desmond took the lead in the last few minutes, a Leon O’Connor free kick was parried by the goalkeeper and confusion in the Clare box led to the ball falling to full back Stephen Grimes who prodded home to put the home side into the lead and it stayed that way until the final whistle.

Well done to the team and management who start the competition with maximum points with an away trip to Cork on the horizon.

Limerick Desmond: Cathal Meehan, Stephen Grimes, Kyle Smith, Micheal O’Kelly, Jamie McAuliffe (c), Finn Ruttle, Dan Healy, Ashton Kelly, Charlie O’Mahony, Conor McGarry, Leon O’Connor Subs: Brendan Meehan, Conor O’Dwyer, Yuri Statchak, Eric Kiely, Shay Looney, Ronan O’Carroll, Conor Lynch, Daniel Tierney, Alex Collins.

Thanks to referee Paudie Manning photographed alongside Clare captain & Limerick Desmond captain Jamie McAuliffe